We are a 16th Century Inn, of some notoriety, mainly in relation to after hours drinking offences. The present proprietor is proud to be continuing this tradition into the early hours (only for residents & their bona fide guests).
The Inn was first licensed in 1620 & was originally known as the Old Red Lion Inn. The name was changed to The Halfway House following a visit by Princess Victoria in the 1820’s. Whilst on a stop to change horses en route from Pitchford Hall near Shrewsbury and Great Witley Court near Worcester, she asked where she was. The reply was given “halfway there m’am”. Since this date the Inn has been known by its’ present name.
The oldest part of the inn also boasts a wonderful example of an Elizabethan wall mural that has been beautifully preserved behind glass for all to see.